North Street Inn - Bed and Breakfast
 
North Street Inn - home

Accommodations

About Beaufort

Contact Us

Guest Reviews

“The Perfect Experience in Beaufort”
Rancor, west palm beach , FL
Jun 28, 2009 | Trip type: Family

We stayed 2 night at the North Street Inn, with my partner and her father. we needed a room downstairs, because he can't walk too well and they had one. it was perfect- just a few steps from the fabulous porch, where he spent a majority of the trip, sitting in the swing, and looking out at the bay. We had one of the upstairs rooms, and it was un-real! classically and comfortably appointed, with a private bath and loads of old time charm. Joann our host was as nice a person as I've ever met- and one of the best cooks. The breakfasts were scrumptious, divine and, best of all, served with love. I can not get the fresh blueberry muffins out of my taste buds! yum!

As a young couple- we didn't know what to expect, but we always try to stay some place with some charm and that reflects the character of the town we are visiting. Its so much better than staying in some plain old chain hotel. I recommend this to any traveler on a budget (or not!) that still wants the real experience of the southern charm that Beaufort has to offer. It is literally steps from downtown bay street, minutes from Parris Island. Off street parking was a plus, and it has central air in every room. We loved it and can't wait for an excuse to return (not that we need one!)


“At home in a home away from home!”
luvbum, Orlando, FL
May 26, 2009 | Trip type: Couples

We stayed in the Blue Room and it was great. This historic house has such beauty and charm. The hosts are so great - super friendly and approachable. The breakfasts are fabulous too - Joanne sure cooks well!!

Just everything was great. The house is beautiful and cozy. Although renovated with modern conveniences, it maintains much of the original woodwork or has been restored with new materials but aesthetically kept the design for its time period. I especially admire the kitchen! The rooms are spacious and have beautiful, classy furniture. The location is perfect. It is not exactly in the busy city center but is not super far away from it. It's far enough to be peaceful and quiet, but close enough to be a 5 minute bike ride to the main strip and marina. And there is ample parking for guests as well. I felt very comfortable and at home here in this home away from home!

Fun tip: There is a drive in theatre off of Hwy 21 that was tons of fun. If you want to experience the feeling of reliving the days of the "drive-in" this is a great theatre! http://hwy21drivein.com/


“relaxing, romantic getaway”
trickybenny , Charleston, sc
May 10, 2009 | Trip type: Couples

Had a great trip to the North Street Inn. The owners are very personable and accomodating. The room really was fantastic! Clean, the bed was comfortable, adjustable thermostat in the bedroom, very close to the downtown scene, breakfasts were tasty and fresh. Waffles w/ fresh fruit one breakfast, and fritatta (quiche w/o the crust). Got some great restaurant recommendations from the owners. Hunting Island beach was a great day trip. Plum's restaurant was great, too. All in all, it was a very relaxing, refreshing weekend staying with some great Beaufort natives.


“What's not to love?”
MDCory, Annapolis, Maryland
Dec 17, 2008 | Trip type: Family

I did not see or stay in any other accommodation; but once you experience the hospitality, the character of the building, the comfortable bed and the excellent breakfast, why look any further. Ever!!

Ken and JoAnn could not be better at welcoming and accommodating. Besides the wonderful breakfast, the coffee was terrific (I can't count the number of B&B stays and good coffee is not always the case). You will really enjoy this place and it is just five blocks along the water to restaurants, shops and pubs. Enjoy.

Liked — the host, the comfort, the breakfast
Disliked — could not stay longer
Date of stay December 2008


“An Outstanding Experience”
kempbr , Landrum, SC
Nov 24, 2008 | Trip type: Couples

This B & B has it all --great room, hospitality, food, friendliness and location. A better experience can't be found at any price.

Liked — Friendly
Disliked — nothing
Date of stay November 2008


“Wonderful, Wonderful Place!”
PattiT66, Darlington, South Carolina
Oct 18, 2008 | Trip type: Couples

We stayed at the North Street Inn for a combination of my birthday and our wedding anniversary. LOVED IT.

Beautiful old victorian home but very clean and neat. Comfortable bed, wonderful tub! In fact I felt so "at home" that I fell asleep in the parlor on the couch reading!

Jo Ann cooks a wonderful breakfast and is so warm, funny and accomodating. She is just precious. I enjoyed our "goodbye" chat with her and her delightful son Kevin as well. It was near enough to downtown and you can even sit on the porch (either in one of the many rocking chairs or in the swing) and watch the boats on the water.

This stay really rejuvenated my soul! I definitely plan on going back I want to share it with my sisters and my Mom!

Liked — The house was gorgeous but did not have "don't touch" museum quality
Disliked — I can't think of a thing


“Best place to stay”
roman6163, Jacksonville, FL
Jun 29, 2008 | Trip type: Couples

Great rates. Lovely old circa 1900 Victorian home. Very clean inside. Made us think we were living in the early 20th century.

Joann was very gracious and made unbelievable dishes for breakfast. The food is worth the stay alone. It is in a perfect part of downtown historic Beaufort. We will definitely go back there again.


“A Great Experience at the North Street Inn”
707Nav, Macon, GA
Jun 8, 2008 | Trip type: Couples

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Jo Anne at the North Street Inn. The property is perfectly placed in the downtown area for walks to lunch/dinner and through the historic district. Our room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Overall, a very positive experience.

Liked — Great value & great location
Disliked — N/A


“Beaufort's hidden gem!”
mister_ed54, Tucker, GA
Oct 16, 2007 | Trip type: Couples

My wife and I spent our anniversary weekend at the North Street Inn and had a wonderful stay! JoAnne and her son are perfect hosts, and serve up a terriffic breakfast. The rooms are immaculate, with a nice homey feel that you almost never get in hotels. There's no internet access and no phone in the rooms, but this wasn't a problem for us; just bring your cell phone. They do have all other amenities (Cable TV, hairdryer, extra blankets, central AC/heat with your own thermostat, etc.). Downtown Beaufort is a short and enjoyable walk along the waterfront away. Another nice surprise is their rates, which are lower than some hotels in the area and may be the best among the B&Bs! We definitely plan to return.

Liked — Great room, great food, wonderful innkeepers!
Disliked — No serious complaints


“Impeccable”
PM Travel, Kingsport, TN
Oct 7, 2007 | Trip type: Couples

This is a great place to stay in Beaufort. It is an excellent location just a short block to the water. The inn is spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was outstanding and the hospitality could not be better. While you are there, take the time to go for a carriage ride.

Liked — Cleanliness and comfort
Disliked — Needed lighting for reading in the bed room


“Delightful”
bhobstrings, Guilford
Apr 26, 2007 | Trip type: Couples

What a thoroughly delightful inn! Our room was large, bright, and so tastefully decorated. Breakfast was terrific - the freshest ingredients were used and the other two couples, who stayed at this charming inn, were lovely. Recommendations from Jo Ann, the owner for activities and restaurants in the area were right on target. We certainly would go back to North Street Inn - a great value and experience.

Liked — location and lovely rooms


“Perfection in the lowcountry”
freshgeorgiapeach, Newnan, Georgia
Apr 9, 2007 | Trip type: Friends getaway

Beaufort, South Carolina is in the heart of low country and very close to Parris Island. These two factors mean there is an abundance of places to stay. However, I was on a budget of around $100/day. The places within my price range were absolutely disgusting. Reviews were filled with tales of dirty rooms, cockroaches and rude employees. On a whim I decided to check out the B&B listing. Like a beacon in the night I saw the North Street Inn B&B. It had great reviews, looked charming, and was within my price range. On the phone the owners are very nice and in person they are even more wonderful. JoAnne and her son have made such a sweet escape. Everything is clean, quaint and quiet. The bed was an amazingly comfortable pillow top with nice and pretty linens. For breakfast JoAnne had prepared a spinach and cheese frittata and homemade blueberry muffins that were as big as a bean bag chair. There is also a big, sweet, fluffy dog that you just want to curl up with and snuggle. The Inn is tucked away on a pretty and quiet side street a few blocks from the downtown historic district. I didn't want to leave. I look forward to going back.

Liked — The cozy welcoming environment. It was like being at a friends house.
Disliked — honestly nothing.


“Great Place to Stay in Beaufort”
weedenf, Raleigh, NC
Apr 8, 2007 | Trip type: Couples

We will always remember our wonderful five night stay at the North Street Inn in Beaufort, SC. Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated, and comfortable. Jo Ann Meares, the resident owner, prepared the most delicious gourmet breakfasts and freely shared her warm southern hospitality. The added bonus was the most reasonable rates in town!

There is a lot to do in Beaufort! We enjoyed going on a terrific historical walking tour with Jon Sharp, visiting Hunting Island State Park, riding a pontoon boat to tour the ACE Basin, and browsing the downtown shops and galleries located on the river front.

Liked — food, cost, location


“Fantastic B&B”
M&D_1984, Charleston, South Carolina
Sep 14, 2006 | Trip type: Couples

We stayed at this B&B over Labor Day Weekend and had no idea what the place was like. There weren't many photos of the rooms on the website and it was considerably lower in price than the other B&B's in Beaufort. We were pleasantly surprised by this beautiful home that is spotless and beautifully decorated. The innkeeper, Joann, is a lovely person. We sat around the kitchen with our coffee talking to her while she cooked waffles with strawberries & fresh cream. The walk to town is maybe 10 minutes. We kept stopping to take photos of the views, or it would have been quicker! We enjoyed the shops and museums and had lunch overlooking the water on the nearly-finished waterfront park. We walked to town again in the evening for dinner. We had a house key so we could come and go as we pleased. I would definitely stay here again, and plan to do so in the near future. Thanks Joann for a great weekend getaway!!

Liked — It was very clean & spacious with a wonderful breakfast.
Disliked — There was no internet - but that's probably a good thing!
Tips/Secrets: — Visit Luther's Bar & Restauran, Kathleens Restaurant, and the Beaufort Art Guild Gallery!


“Lovely Inn”
smith5, nj
Jul 1, 2006

We just returned from a 2 night stay at this charming Inn. The Inn keeper, JoAnn, was so kind and helpful. The Inn is a great location, impeccably clean and comfortable and the beakfast was delicious. We borrowed bikes and drive all around the town, ate in fabulous restaurants and enjoyed the locals. Beaufort is a wonderful town and the Inn completes a wonderful trip.


“North Street Inn - Worth the drive”
Raleigh, NC
May 24, 2006

Loved this Bed & Breakfast. We prefer B & B's to hotels and try to find one everywhere we travel. North Street Inn is our favorite thus far. Charmingly hospitable host, loveable fluffy dog (Griz), and an amazing breakfast. If she'll make them, have the waffles - they are fabulous.

This B & B is nestled close to downtown...we probably could have walked. There is a wonderful front porch with rockers and a swing, perfect for an evening of relaxation. And, from the porch you can see the water.

Our visit to Beaufort was for a specific visit to Parris Island for a graduation, but we loved this Inn so much that we are likely to make the drive again just to stay at the North Street Inn.

Beautiful Inn, wonderful host...you MUST try this Inn.


“A great Inn in a great city.”
Columbia, SC
Jan 8, 2006

Friends of mine had rennovated this house to turn it into a B&B. I did not visit them until they had already sold it. I was eager to see the place and stay there. I had never been to Beaufort and I fell in love with both the Inn and Beaufort itself! I spent 2 glorious nights there. I have not had the chance to go back since, but I have made reservations to go back in the next few weeks. I am looking forward to introducing my friend from New York to a true southern city and a true southern B&B and its owner's gracious hospitality. It is a wonderful walk to downtown Beaufort and the surrounding city. I was allowed to use one of the Inn's bycycles to ride around the city..what a way to see it all!


“North Street Inn-A bed and breakfast experience”

On a recent trip to Beaufort (for the annual Beaufort Water Festival) we stumbled on a charming bed and breakfast called the North Street Inn. Most of the B&B's require a two night stay, which is a problem for me, due to my job. The innkeeper, Joann, was very quick to respond to my E-mail about one night availability. She assured me that it would be no problem and offered to hold a room for us. We arrived Saturday afternoon to find a wonderful (circa 1910) home that has been remodeled, but still has the feel and charm of a 100 year old home but with modern touches like central air,TV etc. The rooms are large with up to date private bath, hardwood floors and a mix of antiques and more recent furniture, that go well together. The Sunday morning breakfast was great, with all guests around the large table. I will stay at the North Street Inn on my next trip and tell anybody considering a trip to Beaufort to give them a try, not only for the atmosphere but also the very affordable rates. The web site has several good pictures of the inn.


[ Home - Accommodations - Rooms - Reviews - Booking - About Beaufort - Contact Us - Directions & Map ]